Olympics Begin In
Begin typing your search above and press return to search.


2019 World Athletics Championships to retain points-based qualification system

2019 World Athletics Championships to retain points-based qualification system

Press Release

Published: 12 Nov 2018 11:43 AM GMT
To coincide with the opening of ticket sales for the IAAF World Athletics Championships Doha 2019 today, the IAAF is announcing a change to the qualification system for the championships. It was originally intended that the new World Rankings system would be used as the athlete qualification system for the IAAF World Championships next year. After carefully listening to groups across the global athletics community, it is apparent while there is broad support for a new World Ranking system, there is still work to do to give full confidence that the points-based system is equally fair to all athletes and in all regions. The IAAF's primary concern, as always, is for the athletes. So while uncertainty remains in the points-based process the IAAF will extend the period of consultation. To do this without impacting the training regimes and preparations in advance of the IAAF World Championships next year, the IAAF Council agreed to stick with the existing qualification system. The IAAF Council has also agreed to introduce the new World Rankings system as planned for the 2019 season so all athletes and all federations can follow the world ranking system in real time and become more familiar with the process before they become the primary qualifying route for the major championships. IAAF President Sebastian Coe said: “We believe strongly that the World Rankings is the best way for athletes to qualify for our major championships in future. Implementing change takes time as it is important our athletes and federations fully understand what is a complex system. We want to give the sport the opportunity to see the World Rankings in action and understand how they will work before we introduce the new system in full. “We think sticking with the existing qualification system is the best solution for Doha because it gives our athletes, coaches and Member Federations the certainty they need at this point to prepare for the world championships. We trust that once everyone understands the World Rankings system they will be confident about its introduction as the qualification system for future championships.” The IAAF has today released the
revised qualification system
for the IAAF World Athletics Championships Doha 2019, which returns to the existing process of entry standards. The IAAF Council will then approve the specific entry standards at its meeting in Monaco on 3-4 December. Under the Doha 2019 entry system, athletes will be able to qualify in four ways:
 - By achieving the entry standard within the qualification period.
 - By winning the Area Championship in all individual events except the marathon, an athlete will be considered to have achieved the entry standard (subject to the approval of the Technical Delegate who will assess the standard of specific events).
 - By Wild Card, as the reigning World Champion, winner of the 2019 IAAF Diamond League or leader of the IAAF Hammer Throw Challenge, Race Walk Challenge and Combined Events Challenge (at the end of the qualification period). However only one athlete can be nominated per country under this clause as there is a limit of four athletes per country in total.
 - By being among the best ranked athletes on the IAAF Top Performance Lists within the respective qualifying periods (except in the 10,000m, marathon and race walks).
Wherever target numbers are not reached by entry standard alone, the rolldown system used for the last world championships in London will be used to determine how many athletes will qualify from the top lists. Relay teams will qualify via the IAAF World Relays Yokohama 2019 and via the top lists. Member Federations who have no athletes who have achieved the entry standards will be able to enter one unqualified athlete. Tickets for the IAAF World Athletics Championships Doha 2019 go on sale online at 1300 GMT, Sunday, November 11 on a first-come first-served basis. There are a range of innovative options to allow fans to choose the tickets that suit them best. These include finish line seats, traditional Arab cushioned Majlis seating, tickets that allow fans to follow a particular champion and taster options priced from just 14 Euro/60 QAR. The IAAF World Athletics Championships will be held in Doha, Qatar from September 27 to October 6, 2019.
Next Story